Temple Committees 2014-2015

Constituent Organizations

Men’s Club—invites all adult male Temple B’nai Abraham members to join and become active members of Men’s Club. We are a diverse organization that promotes camaraderie, friendship, chivarly and service to the community as well as a connection to B’nai Abraham and the Jewish community.Men's Club Co-President Brian Altman, bja52994@aol.com & Co-President- to be determined

Parent-Teacher Association (PTA)—is committed to enhancing the Jewish Learning Program experience for the children at our synagogue. It is our goal to provide a positive and enriching Jewish traditional and cultural atmosphere for all children attending school and services at the Temple. Co-Presidents: Jen Mager, Jcmager@verizon.net & Julie Sherman, juliersherman@yahoo.com

Sisterhood—offers friendship, fun, learning, growth and involvement to all female members of B’nai Abraham while also serving the Temple and Jewish community at large. The Sisterhood Judaica Shop, located outside of the Saul Reinfeld Hall, is a convenient place to purchase gifts from a high quality selection of items for every life cycle event and Jewish holidays. Co- Presidents: Sandra Kantor, the kantors@aol.com & Suzanne Weinick, sweinick@comcast.net

Auxiliary Association

Early School Parents’ Council—is the link among the parents of The Early School, school staff, temple groups and staff. Our goal is to enhance the early childhood educational experience for our children. Co-Presidents: Lori Rosenbaum, lorirosenbaum@me.com & Tara Heyderman, tarap14@gmail.com

Committees

Adult Learning — with Melissa Weiner, Director of Jewish Learning Program, plans classes, lectures, study sessions, scholar-in-residence, community forum, etc. with clergy and educators. Co-Chairs: Alyce Sands Miller, hljmom@aol.com  & Steve Delman, coachlobos@aol.com

Annual Giving— Partners in Leadership, encourages members to make voluntary annual contributions to augment our annual dues and balance our budget.  These donations are used to maintain our high level of services and programming. Co-Chairs: Merle Kalishman, merlekalishman@gmail.com & Isabella Fiske, isabellafiske@hotmail.com

Board of Education—is responsible for the Early School, Religious and High School Education. It recommends policy to the Board of Trustees and oversees the functioning and practices of these programs, as well as the Junior Youth Group. Co-Chairs: Abby Silverman, abbysilverman@comcast.net & Michelle Barishaw, barishaw@comcast.net

Budget—works with the Treasurer, Executive Director and Controller to set the budget for the Temple year. Chair: Carey Gertler, carey.gertler@cohnreznick.com

Buildings and Grounds—charged with the ongoing oversight of all maintenance and improvement of Temple property except for the Memorial Park. Co-Chairs: Brian Altman, bja52994@aol.com & Darren Schumer, dschumer@comcast.net

Caring Connections—works with clerfy and staff to provide visitation to those at home and in the hospitals. Responds to births and deaths in the congregation and other caring gestures as needed. Co-Chairs: Terri Friedman, Terrifriedman@mac.com & Bunny Schwartz, bunnysmail@aol.com

Catering—oversees catering for Temple events as needed. Co-Chairs: Joni Cohen, j.cohen5@verizon.net & Renee Cohen, rcohen15@aol.com

College—provides outreach to Temple B’nai Abraham college students.
Chair: Carol Brichke, cfriedbri@yahoo.com

Development—helps to educate the membership regarding plans and activities which allow the temple to achieve certain long-term capital and operational goals. Chair: Marvin Wertheimer, marvin@netwert.com
 
Interior Design—responsible for maintenance as well as improvements with regard to the decorating of the building. Co-Chairs: Ethel Gittlin, egittlinstudio@aol.com & Trudy Slater, trudyslater@comcast.net

Investments—is responsible for recommending to the Board action to be taken concerning selection, purchase and sale of securities and other investment assets. Co- Chairs: M. Steven Silbermann, steven.silbermann@gmail.com & Jason Myers, jasonlmyers1@gmail.com

Marketing, Communications & Public Relations/Website—works with various committees and arms of the congregation to effectively communicate our activities both in house and in outside publications. Co-Chairs: Barbara Birnbaum, birnfam@aol.com & Ruth Ross, evieross@comcast.net

Membershipis the group that recruits prospective members, welcomes new members, focuses on membership retention, encourages member participation, and is responsible for partnering with other TBA groups to plan and schedule temple-wide events. Co-Chairs: Ken Starr, starrkenneth@gmail.com & Marjie Zucker, marjiezucker@verizon.net

Memorial Park—works with the Park director and the Board of Trustees in setting policy, prices and practice. B’nai Abraham Memorial Park is located on Route 22 in Union. Co-Chairs: Mark Meller, meller@silversuntech.com & Richard Dinar, richardd@theprogressivecompanies.com

Prime Time—Geared to those 55 and older but open to all who are interested. Sponsors varied programs and trips throughout the year. Chair: Ethel Singer, ethel4s@aol.com

Ritual—works with Rabbi and Cantor in setting policy for services and ritual practice. Co- Chairs: Peter Klein, pmklein@comcast.net & Edward Meinhardt, meinhardted@gmail.com

Security—responsible for setting policy regarding all security issues at the temple. Ken Bernstein, kbernstein@accessiondata.com

Shalach Manot —responsible for annual temple-wide Shalach Manot (Purim gift) project.  

Social Action (SAC)—plans and implements projects and events around issues of significance in our community and world. Our mission is to provide opportunities for Temple members to perform acts of Tikkun Olam. Chair: Lisa Reisboard,  laej28@gmail.com   

  • The Green Team—under the auspices of the SAC— leads our congregation in a comprehensive effort to reach new heights in environmental awareness and practices. Green Team Leader: Lisa Reisboard, laej28@gmail.com.

Sodowick Museum Showcase—is responsible for acquiring articles of Judaica or cultural significance for purposes of display and other holiday and seasonal exhibits. Co-Chairs: Bonnie Colletti, netbonnie@hotmail.com & Jessica Goldstern, jessica.goldstern@gmail.com

Ushering—helps to keep order at Temple services and special events and assists visitors. Ushering Chair: Jeffrey Grabelle sportsjefe@aol.com         

Ways and Means—is responsible for planning and implementing fund raising events for the Temple. Co-Chairs: Ilana Lebersfeld, imlebersfeld@gmail.com & Erica Facktor, efacktor@yahoo.com . Advisor: Hyla Weiss, hylaweiss@verizon.net

© 2014 TEMPLE B’NAI ABRAHAM. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.