From the President
photo courtesy Jan Press PhotoMedia
Julie A. Silbermann, photo credit: Jan Press PhotoMedia

Julie A. Silbermann

I am honored to welcome you to Temple B’nai Abraham. My family has a long tradition with Temple B’nai Abraham and my children are the third generation to walk through these doors. We, over 900 member families, are proud of being a warm, embracing synagogue and an exceptional educational institution.

Rooted in tradition, progressive in outlook, we are one of the oldest and largest independent synagogues in America. We continually define ourselves by our pulpit, our lay leadership, and the generational legacies that have been lovingly embraced and preserved for more than a century and a half.

We are overwhelmingly a familial congregation. We are an extended family that offers connection, compassion, and community to all. Our religious services for Shabbat, High Holy Days, and all the holidays and festivals in between are rich, meaningful, and filled with warmth.

Our temple is in constant motion, reflecting active involvement across all age groups. With the early morning arrival of our preschoolers to our highly regarded Early School, afternoons at our exceptional Jewish Education Program, ongoing  bar and bat mitzvah lessons, and our dynamic evening Hey classes and Makom:  High School program and youth groups, Temple B'nai Abraham is a busy and exciting place.

In addition, there is a steady stream of meetings and programs of all the various committees that make up every aspect of our synagogue, ranging from our active Caring Connections, Adult Learning, Social Action, and Ritual Committees, to forums for important regional, national and international speakers.  Temple B’nai Abraham combines the best of what the modern Jewish community has to offer.

I invite you to tour this state-of-the-art website and virtually visit Temple B’nai Abraham. Then come and see us in person—meet our clergy, tour our schools, sit in on services, or participate in an open program. Come hear a lecture or participate in a class.  See us in action and be inspired!   I look forward to welcoming you personally.



TO:              Members of Temple B’nai Abraham

FROM:         Stacey Rosenberg, Secretary


In accordance with Article XI, Section 2 of the Constitution and By-laws of the Congregation, the Nominating Committee will hold an open meeting for the purpose of receiving Members’ written or oral nomination recommendations for the Committee’s consideration.


We will be considering nominations for Nine (9) congregants to serve as Officers for a two-year term and Twelve (12) congregants to serve as Trustees for a three-year term.   All positions will commence on March 1, 2017.  Elections will be at the 164th Annual Meeting of the Congregation in January 2017.


The Open Meeting

will be held at the Temple on

Tuesday, December 6, 2016 at 7:00 PM


Officers 2016-2017

Julie A. Silbermann

Vice Presidents
Saul Berkowitz
Randi Jeddis
Jeffrey Klein

Scott Loventhal

Jeffrey Kollin

Stacey Rosenberg

Assistant Treasurer
Carey Gertler

Assistant Secretary
Ken Starr

Immediate Past President
Edward Meinhardt

Jakob B. Halpern


 Link to Listing of Temple Committees

Past Presidents

Edward Meinhardt 2009-2013
BJ Reisberg 2005-2009
Jeffrey D. Roth 2003-2005
Sandra L. Greenberg 1999-2003
Merle H. Kalishman 1995-1999
Ira M. Starr 1991-1995
Marilyn Rosenbaum 1987-1991
*Joel J. Rogoff 1983-1987
Peter M. Klein 1981-1983
Martin H. Kalishman 1977-1981
*I. Samuel Sodowick 1973-1977
*Abram Barkan 1971-1973
*Dr. Sol Parent 1969-1971
*A. Sam Gittlin 1965-1969
*Leo Brody 1963-1965
*Norman Feldman 1959-1963
*Leo Brody 1954-1959
*Louis Rosen 1953-1954
*Samuel Klein 1949-1953
*Michael A. Stavitsky 1939-1949
*Albert Hollander 1926-1939
*Phillip J. Schlotland 1913-1926
*William S. Rich 1896-1912
*Moritz Beria 1871-1896
*Lesser Marks 1853-1870

* Deceased